Web 2.0 Article

Photo Credit: CC, Infrogmation of New Orleans

Photo Credit: CC, Infrogmation of New Orleans

Tim O’Reilly does a great job explaining Web 2.0 websites. I had never heard the term before and after reading this I feel like I could explain it to someone else. I never really thought about what the Internet was like when it first came because it was really nothing else to compare it to. But this article made me think about how much the Internet has developed over time. When O’Reilly compared today’s websites and Internet behavior to that of the old ones, I really got the picture.

Web 2.0 websites gives users a role in the development of sites. They don’t just use the website but rather they interact with the sites. I can remember being told that everything we Google is kept somewhere in a file to help better serve us as Internet users but that’s also a little scary. I used to wonder how those ads popped up for “Local Singles in my area”. How did the computer know where I was? But with Web 2.0 everything is tracked and stored, could be used for good and hopefully never used for bad.

For instance, Youtube has given Internet users the opportunity to display talent and some of those users have became celebrity like Justin Beiber and P$Y. The fact that views can be counted is a result of Web 2.0.

Web 2.0 Gangnam Style  Justin Bieber 

2 comments

  1. Lol. “How do they know what my local area is?!?!?!”

    Good post, Denard. Yes, information can be used for a whole bunch of different purposes–trying to figure out directions, for example, or else trying to figure out what your average salary is in order to guess what kinds of advertisers want to have some of your attention–but, it seems to me, that the key is getting everybody to be up front about what and how they are collecting that info, and of course who they are sharing it with.

  2. Hey!

    I agree that google is the most wonderful, creepy tool on the internet. The fact that a search engine can give me results by my location is mind boggling. When creating my twitter account I was asked “Would you like us to recommend pages based on your web browsing?” I never knew that twitter even had access to my web surfing history. Similarly, twitter recommends other tweeters who are similar to you. What is this recommendation based off of? The hash tag? Topics discussed in a user tweets? Or maybe the tone? This just goes to show that Web 2.0 gives the user power. We have an web identity. We can create an identity similar to or own life styles or become an entirely new person. Web 2.0 truly gives the user POWER.


Leave a Reply

